Tomato Shorba

img_4980

 Soup

“A Grateful Meal”

To see the entire seven- course meal menu, please click on the menu bar on the main blog page and click on the title of the menu- “A Grateful Meal”.

This soup was one of the most satisfying treats I always had my train rides to Punjab from New Delhi. In contrast to the several cups of chai that I would enjoy, this would be a savory break. It was especially gratifying during the cold months when I needed something to take the chill away. For this seven course meal, I worked to recreate that memory and it was the form of tomatoes that I struggled with. You know I would always prefer fresh ingredients to canned but in this case I could not get the right balance of acidity and sweetness from fresh tomatoes. I also tried to use different styles of canned tomatoes and tomato paste. In the end I finally recreated the memory with canned san marzano tomatoes. Sometimes the soup I had in India had tiny bits of fried paneer. But for this seven course meal I needed it just as a soup course without any heaviness that was already there in the previous course. I tried to keep it as simple as possible. Enjoy…

Tomato Shorba

Serves 6- 8 within a seven course meal

1 Tbsp Ghee

2 Tsp Cumin Seeds

2 Cloves Garlic Minced

1 Small Onion Chopped

1 Tbsp Garam Masala

1 28 oz. Can San Marzano Tomatoes

4 Cups Vegetable Broth

1 Tbsp. Sugar

2 Tsp. Salt

*Cilantro and Black Pepper for Garnish

*Optional

Technique

Heat the ghee in a large pot over medium high heat. Add the cumin seeds. When the seeds begin to sizzle add in the garlic and onion. Keep stirring until the onions become translucent, a couple minutes. Add the garam masala just until the onions and garlic are coated and then add the can of tomatoes. Stir them around so that the flavors all blend together and then pour the broth into the pot. Add the sugar and salt and then allow the whole mixture to come to a boil. Once it boils, lower the heat and simmer for twenty minutes. You can either use an immersion blender at this point or put the entire mixture into a blender (be careful with hot liquids in a blender- always cover the lid with a towel and go from low speed to high). Blend until it is smooth and silky (yes soup can be silky). There is the option here to pour it through a fine sieve to make it extra smooth or you can just leave the tiny bits in. It’s entirely up to your preference. And then garnish with black pepper and cilantro after its been poured into bowls or cups, if you like. That’s how I enjoy it the most.

